Oreo Cheesecake Bites

I’ve said this on my other blog, but i feel it is important to repeat it:

There are some really amazing food blogs out there.  This is NOT one of them. 

I’m neither an amazing blogger nor an amazing baker.  I do, however, enjoy blogging and baking.  And I would really love to practice both of them more often.  Sadly, my husband repeatedly tells me I cannot stay home just to make things to blog about.  Something about needing to pay bills…

[insert awkward silence here]

Annie’s Eats is my current fav food blogs.  I stumbled on her site purely by accident while killing time on Pintrest.  And I found myself bookmarking all kinds of wonderful recipes.  Annie IS an amazing food blogger.  And I’m not even jealous.

One of the first recipes I found and knew I had to try were her Oreo Cheesecake Bars.  You can find her recipe and directions here.  And since she’s already played around with the recipe, you just have to follow her modifications.

One of the very first steps is to put the Oreos into a food processor.  SCORE!  Now this might not sound exciting to you, but I received my very first food processor as a Christmas gift.  And then all of a sudden, NONE of the recipes I wanted to make needed a darn food processor.  So for six months, it sat in the bottom of my cupboard.  Finally I had a reason to use it!  Even if it was just to crush up a bunch of cookies.

Rather than spending too much time reading the instruction manual, I just pulled up a YouTube video to show me. It just seemed easier that way. And it was.

I used to assume that making cheesecake was too hard to attempt.  That surely I would screw it up.  But then I had a friend convince me it really isn’t that hard.  And at the end, you have delicious cheesecake to reward yourself for your efforts.  So I made a lemon cheesecake and found a blueberry topping to make.  It. Was.  Delicious.    And now I’m not scared anymore.

Wait, what was I talking about?  Oh yes, the Oreo Cheesecake Bars.  Sorry for the sidetrack there.

I made these on a Wednesday night.  Which if you knew me, you would know I don’t attempt too much on a school night.  Between my two kids and my full time job, there just isn’t much left of me at the end of the day.  But these really are that easy.

First, you make your Oreo crust.  Which is just crushed up cookies and butter.  Simple.

Then, you gather your ingredients for the filling and use your mixer to beat them together.  Sure, there’s some measuring to do and an order in which you add the ingredients to the mixture.  But still pretty easy.

Ingredients: cream cheese, sugar, sour cream, vanilla, salt and an egg

Next, you roughly chop a few more Oreos and add them to your cream cheese mixture.  Simple.

Try not to eat too many pieces before you mix them in. I know, it’s hard.

Bake, that’s right.  Pour your mixture into the crust and bake.  Sound hard yet?  Now admittedly, I should have baked these a bit longer and let the crust slightly brown.  But that would be for appearances only.

Chill.  Okay, this is the hard part.  It needs at least an hour on the counter and another three hours in the refrigerator.  I chilled mine overnight and cut up the bite-size pieces basically on my way out the door to our event.

I chose the flower-looking plate since it was being served at a reception for my daughter’s dance class.

Eat.  And enjoy every bite!

 

sam

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Wow, I am definitely going to have to try these!

    Reply

Tell me your thoughts

