Photo A Day – August Challenge

Ack!  August is a week away.  How did that happen?

I’m a planner.  Well, at least I try to be a planner.  So I went looking for an August Photo A Day challenge.  But I didn’t find any posted yet!  What’s a girl to do?  Create her own!  So if I saw something interesting while driving down the road, sitting at my desk, or watching t.v., I would jot it down.  Thus became the August list.

My goal is to get at least 5 people to take my Photo A Day – August Challenge.  I would love if 50 people would join me.  500 people might get overwhelming, but why not?  Drop me a comment to let me know you’re in!  And then, more importantly, show me your pictures!

If I get enough people who want to share, I’ll create a new PAGE on Between The Shutters and let people link up with you and see your photos too.  But I have full rights to take it down your link if I don’t like your blog.

New to Photo A Day Challenge?

Here’s the deal.  You are given a daily topic, you take a picture of your subject and then you share you photo.  You can share it on your blog, Facebook, Twitter, Instragram, Pinterest…where ever.  It’s suppose to be fun, not a chore.  So if you  miss a day, you miss a day.  No big deal.

August’s Challenge List

Do you need a more direction than just a single word?  For a bit more inspiration, here are some ideas:

  1. Street: the street you live on, from the window at a red light, from your office window (because you’re not working)
  2. Book: a book you’re reading, the tickets you just booked (to escape someone), your e-reader
  3. Phone:  someone on the phone, a cell phone store (with a line out the door) , phone lines
  4. Tree: tree branches, a single leaf, shade from a tree (that you want to take a nap under)
  5. Left: somebody who left you, the left side of the room, something left on the counter (because you are so forgetful)
  6. Light: the lamp on the table, sunlight, the light of your life (gag)
  7. Line: people waiting in line, parking lot lines, a line you drew (just to take this picture)
  8. Change: coins from your pocket, something you did/want to change, changing of the guards (that would be awesome to see)
  9. Fence:  fence around the pool,  a squirrel on the fence, something fencing you in (the caged animal you are)
  10. Drink: your adult beverage, a child drinking from their sippy cup, iced tea (I’d go for the adult beverage)
  11. Love: a person/place/think you love, a word that spells love, a heart (like a drawing, not a human heart)
  12. Bag: a purse, a reusable grocery bag, your lunch bag (hopefully you have something yummy to eat)
  13. Mail: junk mail (what a waste of paper), mailbox, a package you received in the mail
  14. Dark: a dark room, a shadow, dark chocolate (mmm…dark chocolate)
  15. Sky: clouds, a bird flying in the sky, sky blue (or Skyy Vodka)
  16. Breakfast: anything you ate for breakfast, an empty cereal bowl, what you should have eaten for breakfast (instead of the cupcake you ate)
  17. Water: a puddle in the parking lot, a water droplet on a plant, your glass of water (if you’re boring like that)
  18. Sweet: a sweet puppy, a sugar packet, sweet cream ice cream (drizzle this with dark chocolate for me)
  19. Radio: a radio antenna, logo of your favorite radio station (don’t stalk the radio personalities), the radio in your car
  20. Wall: a blank wall, art hanging on a wall, your Facebook wall (careful with sharing your names)
  21. Shoe: shoes in your closet, shoe laces, shoe store (just go shoe shopping)
  22. Friend: your furry friend, a stuffed animal , your best friend (you can stalk your friend)
  23. Bowl: a bowl from your cabinet, a bowl of business cards at a restaurant, a souvenir from a bowl game you went to (and your team won, it’s more fun that way)
  24. Car: cars in the parking lot (hopefully not the empty spot where your car was when you went inside), keys to your car, a car seat
  25. Inside: the inside of your empty chip bag (piggy), inside of your refrigerator, a room inside your house
  26. Funny: a funny face, something that makes you laugh, a funny looking anything (no, you may not take my picture for this one)
  27. Hook: Captain Hook (get his autograph too), a coat hook, a trailer hitch hooked to a truck
  28. Top: the top of the stack, a shirt (perhaps on the stack of laundry to do), a spinning top
  29. Pen: something you penned, your favorite pen, someone holding a pen (hopefully not your boss writing your pink slip)
  30. Orange: the sunset with orange clouds, an orange sock, a peach (you know, because its orange too)
  31. Key: your house key, the key word in the crossword puzzle, don’t take a picture of the key to your car for car (save it for this one.)

Now, go snap some pictures and have fun with them!

sam

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Bo

     /  July 26, 2012

    I love this idea! Am pretty much “in” but need to discuss w/you nxt wk.

    Reply
  2. Reblogged this on jennyrambles and commented:
    I did a photo a day challenge a few months ago and I really enjoyed it. It made me stop and look at the world. My best friend came up with this challenge all on her own and I’m going to (try) and do it. I’d like to invite you to participate too. Just take the photo, post it to Instagram or Facebook and let your friends know what you are doing. You’ll be surprised how many people will start to anticipate your next days photo.

    Reply
  3. Hi dear, I just repost your photo a day list on my blog. I hope you’re okay with that! ❤

    Xx

    Reply
  4. I’m in what’s the #?

    Reply
    • I’m proud to say I have 10 confirmed challengers…but over 975 hits to my post. Hopefully more are joining in our fun! Will you be posting you pictures to your site?

      Reply
  5. Kat

     /  August 1, 2012

    I am definitely am doing this!!!
    So fun!

    Reply
  6. Rebecca

     /  August 1, 2012

    I will join you for this challenge and post the pics on InstaGram.
    Username: 03NaturalBeauty

    Reply
  7. Thanks for the idea!!! I am joining in as well!!! http://noahsmommy1022.blogspot.com/2012/08/photo-day.html

    Reply

Tell me your thoughts

